What is always in my trolley and why

I often get asked where I shop and what I buy when I do. My clients know that I love food and am so passionate about nutrition and will often rave about recipes and new foods that I have tried and love. I have also been known to take a couple of clients grocery shopping before and cannot believe how fun this is! I know by doing this I am filling peoples trolleys with goodness and I know I’m helping them out. I also cannot believe some trolleys that I see when I am out, especially when they are filled with soft drinks and processed goods. Just by making some simple changes and adding things into your diet will make a drastic change to the appearance of your trolley. Aim to have 1/4 of your food items to be from fresh fruit and vegetable sources and go from there making sure to slowly increase your intake overtime. You will be surprised at how quickly you end up ‘crowding out’ all of the bad things.

Here is my trolley and I am going to give you the top 10 things I usually purchase and always need to have in my pantry…

1. Organic food – This obviously covers a broad range of things including fresh produce to nuts to household products. Organics are better. Simple as that. They haven’t been sprayed with herbicides or pesticides and have to adhere to a strict code to maintain their organic label. If you go shopping and an organic choice is availability and in your price range, I highly recommend you go for that option.

2. Coconut Oil – Coconut oil is an extremely nutritious product that has a number of practical uses. My favourite is to use to roast my sweet potato or root vegetables in or even fry haloumi in. It can also be added to salad dressings or smoothies as a great source of fat. As well as for food, coconut oil is a great beauty treatment as its extremely moisturising. Use as a hair treatment or full body moisturiser. Always buy two jars, one for your pantry and one for your beauty cupboard.

3. Chia Seeds – Chia seeds are the highest known plant source of omega 3 fatty acid. They’re high in minerals such as folate, iron and zinc and they help to clean your colon! When chia seeds are around a liquid, such as water or even saliva, they develop a gelatinous like coating. This coating which help to produce bulkier stools which are necessary for the detoxing process! Add them to juices, smoothies, yoghurts, salads or even desserts.

4. Natvia – Made from stevia, Natvia is a low-calorie sweetener that does not have the same effects on the body like sugar. I use this to sweeten food where I would sugar where I don’t want the sugar hangover after.

5. Raw Cacao Powder – Jam packed with antioxidants, raw cacao is something you need in your pantry and need to replace your usual cocoa powder with. Raw Cacao is raved as one of the best superfoods and as well as this is so easy to add into your diet. Chuck in smoothies or even make your own raw chocolate with. Use as you would cocoa by try to use it in its raw state as it’s extremely high in antioxidants and essential minerals like magnesium, chromium and iron which you want to retain.

6. Haloumi – Ah, haloumi. Haloumi is a favourite snack of mine. Whenever I am craving I always fry some up in coconut oil and it always keeps cravings at bay. Have with roasted vegetables and some fresh spinach for a fabulous and fresh meal. Obviously not a health food but due to the large amount of fat in it, it fills you up fast and is completely sugar free.

7. Lemons – I always have warm water with lemon in the morning, it helps to put the body in a more alkaline state. We want our body to be more alkaline rather than an acid as when we are in an acidic state, this is when disease and illness can occur. By adding lemon to your water it’s an easy to get your body in a more alkaline state and of course making water tastier to consume.

8. Eggs – Eggs are a perfect source of protein and fats and are a great anytime meal. Have them at breakfast or dinner with vegetables and you have an easy meal. Boil them for a perfect on the go snack but just make sure they are organic. You all should know by now how much I love eggs and they are EASY. Always have them on hand.

9. Almond Milk – My preference to dairy milk. I use this in my smoothies and when I am making recipes. It is made by soaking almonds and then blending the soaked almonds with water and usually a sweetener like dates or agave. It is quite low in calorie and is fine for people who suffer from lactose intolerance.

10. Quinoa – A great source of protein and carbohydrates, quinoa is extremely alkaline to the body. You can easy use quinoa in place of cous cous, rice or mashed potato. It can also be used in sweet or savoury dishes and is fabulous to substitute in a porridge for oats for those who are gluten intolerant.

11. Vegetables – Fresh organic vegetables are essential if you want to have the vitality that comes with being healthy. We don’t consume enough vegetables and usually when we do they are overcooked and all of the enzymes and goodness is greatly diminished. Like I said above, aim for 1/4 of your food to be fruit and vegetables and go from there. Aim for a variety and a rainbow of colour

Leave a Reply

